Fried apples and nostalgia


At 10:00 a few Sunday nights ago I made fried apples! After eating stir fry I really wanted dessert, and although I was craving chocolate (as usual) I thought I’d try something a little different.  We had leftover apples from our Halloween party laying around waiting to be used, so I thought why not! My dad used to make fried apples for breakfast when I was little, and his grandma made it for him every morning on their KY farm in the summer before he and my great grandpa and everyone else went out to work. Other then Christmas morning, and a few other morning scattered throughout the year I never eat fried apples, and I’ve never had them as dessert before. They were GOOD! Jason put whipped cream on his, I ate mine plain… I’ve heard (and believe) that vanilla ice cream is amazing on them. Eating fried apples with Jason, my kitties, and a blanket was the perfect way to end a Sunday.

FRIED APPLES

You need:

Approx. 8 apples, cored, peeled, and sliced

1/4 cup of butter (I recommend organic, unsalted sweet cream butter)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg

Melt the butter in a skillet over medium heat until it is melter.  Then add the rest of the ingredients and let cook until the apples are tender and soft (or until you like them)!

