Walnut/Almond/Pumpkin seed/Oatmeal Granola

Granola has pretty much been a staple in my life since I started college. Its cheap, its filling, its nutritional (for the most part).  I would walk up to the Natural food store and buy Rainforest Granola in bulk in a big plastic bag, take it home, and happily eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  I love oats, and anything that has to do with oats!  Growing up my mom made a really beautiful dessert granola that has sweetened condensed milk in it (mmmm) that was great for a treat, but not something that was healthy to eat on an everyday basis.  After buying granola from the store for years, I finally set out to be a self-sufficient granola consumer.  After hunting around I finally found a recipe that sounded good on the Sweetheart Fever blog.  I made it and LOVED it!  I really recommend it, once you try it you wont be able to stop thinking about it… sometimes I find myself going to the grocery to buy cat food and leaving with cat food + random granola ingredients, its obvious I have granola on the brain.

One of the good things (as the Sweetheart Fever blog points out so accurately) about granola its kind of a kitchen sink recipe… as in you can throw everything plus the kitchen sink into it!  Like raisins?  Throw them in!  Have a cup of dried Michigan Cherries left over from the summer? Throw them in!  Are you a nut fiend?  Just make it with nuts!  Take the recipe and make it yours, I promise getting your daily granola fix will be 10 times more rewarding and enjoyable!

GRANOLA

(recipe copied verbatim from Sweetheart Fever)

1/2 Cup Walnut Oil
1/2 Cup Honey (more if you like it sweeter)
Almonds
Walnuts
Pine Nuts
Flax Seed
Golden Raisins
2 Cups Rolled Oats

To Make:

Roughly chop the walnuts and almonds, then scoop them into a large pot. Add the oats, flax seed, pine nuts, golden raisins, and anything else you have on hand.

Combine the walnut oil and honey in a large saucepan over low heat and stir slowly until the mixture comes to a bubbling simmer.

Pour the oil/honey mixture slowly over the granola mixture, turning the ingredients slowly so that they are evenly and thoroughly coated. Spread the resulting mixture over a baking sheet. Spread it thinly in order to ensure that the granola comes out of the oven evenly baked and extra crispy (that means delicious).

Pop the pan into an oven pre-heated to 350°F. Let it bake for 20-30 minutes, stirring/turning occasionally.

