A quiet Sunday morning breakfast

Usually on Sunday mornings Jason and I both sleep in as long as possible, and then go out for brunch.  This morning, however, my stomach wasnt feeling too well (I have GERD)  due to the three Bernjager honey liqueur + champagne cocktails I drank last night ( I don’t regret a single one).  I got myself up around 9 and took myself downstairs to feed the cats and make a quiet, stomach friendly breakfast alone.

Recently it has been brought to my attention that there are quite a few people who I know who have NEVER HAD OATMEAL.   How is this possible?  Oatmeal is the staple of life, okay, maybe just my life. In college I promoted healthy brain cell growth pretty much by eating oatmeal every day, multiple times a day (I was also very poor).   If you’ve never tried oatmeal (and I mean real oatmeal, not instant oatmeal, not quick oatmeal.  Either rolled oats or steel-cut oats.) there is no better time than now!  It’s easy, great for your health, and can be spiced up in various ways.  Oatmeal was originally a Scottish peasant food called porridge (think Goldilocks and the three bears) that, due to its ability to sustain growth in Scotland’s wet growing climate, basically supported the population.

Quiet mornings are rare and wonderful.  This morning was especially lovely because it was just cool enough outside to have the windows cracked open, making our house feel fresh.  All night last night and early in the morning I could hear the trains down on Spring Grove sounding their horns, which is one of my favorite sounds.  I’m actually not disappointed that today is a cloudy day in Cincinnati, cloudy, cool days are perfectly sleepy.  Especially when they start out with oatmeal and tea, quiet and alone.

BREAKFAST OATMEAL

These basic directions are on every container of oatmeal that you buy at the store.  The directions below are my personal preference on how to make oatmeal.

1/2 cup of oats

1 cup of whole milk

2 tablespoons of brown sugar

1 handful raisins or dried cranberries

  1. Bring your milk to a boil, stirring pretty constantly with a wooden spoon and scraping the bottom constantly to prevent any burning.
  2. When the milk comes to a boil put the oats in, reduce the heat to medium, and let them simmer for 5 minutes stirring occasionally.
  3. After 5 minutes take the oatmeal off of the heat, cover with a lid, and let sit for another 2 minutes.
  4. Once the oatmeal is in your choice of bowl sprinkle the sugar over top and add the raisins or dried cranberries.
  5. Dipping toast with butter in oatmeal is also amazing, enjoy!
