A truely stinky cheese

I have been dreaming of Stilton for months.  Let me back track for a moment… before last night I had never had Stilton before in my life, but I dreamt of the day when I might procure and sample this stinky stinky cheese (is this weird?).  Often times my taste buds are tied to the literary world (go ahead, say it: nerd), and when I read that one of my favorite characters  Mary Russell of the Mary Russell series by Laurie R. King indulged in particularly ripe pieces of Stilton, the deal was sealed (http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=141289954903).

These are English cows … it is from English cows that we get Stilton because Stilton is… British.  Ok. So lately I feel like the UK gets everything good.. they get the (more) awesome book covers when new books are released, and they have amazing cheese.  Books and cheese, nothing else in life matters.   Only cheese produced in the counties of Derbyshire, Leicestershire, and Nottinghamshire can be called true Stilton cheese, so if anyone tries to sell you American USDA approved organic Stilton or some such rot you can throw it back in their faces for trying to pawn off fake cheese on you.  Bastards.

Stilton is truly stinky. It is also  just a bit sneaky. When eating it, if you try it by itself, your first impression upon tasting it is that its very smooth (not creamy like a brie, but smooth).  Smooth seems to be universally linked with other words like “light” and “airy”. Surprise! Give it a few seconds and you’ll be hit with the pungent aftertaste that mirrors the oh so delicate stench that assaults your nostrils when  inhaling (literally) the stinky Stilton. For those who enjoy acquired tastes (dark beer, straight espresso, various types of fermented foods, etc) Stilton is heaven.  Drizzle it with honey, spread it on a piece of pear, layer it between chicken, onion, and grilled peach (as Jason and I did last night) and enjoy.

What do George Orwell and Wallace and Gromit have in common?  A love for Wensleydale cheese… but as George Orwell is the smarter of the three (being a real person) it is fitting that he prefers Stilton just a bit more: “Then there are the English cheeses. There are not many of them but I fancy that Stilton is the best cheese of its type in the world, with Wensleydale not far behind.” – In Defense of English Cooking

 

