“an audacious animal”

Call it sick, but I’m kind of obsessed with the Dining and Wine section of The New York Times.  I read it before I read the actual news (although, can you really blame me for wanting some happiness with my sadness?).  Trying to save some money over the holiday season I spent a decent amount of time combing through current and back recipes in the NYT to find something fun to make for presents ( I didn’t make them but there are some awesome recipes for liquored up fruit preserves).

What I did find, which is just as exciting as the truffle recipe I also found, was an awesome article about craft distilleries in the North Eastern regions of the U.S. titled “Just Dont Call it Moonshine” by Toby Cecchini.   Gin is Gin is Gin, right?  Cecchini and the distillers that he interviews beg to differ, citing their ability to “diversify wildly” and play with ingredients in a way that large batches wouldn’t allow.

The article is well written and interesting, painting colorful pictures of the urban business class returning (if only in practice) to their make-do farm roots; as the article points out, the best way to get the most bang for your buck with fruits like apples is to make them into liquor. However, the best is saved for last:

“His gin is also an audacious animal, odd and thrilling. He infuses single-distilled spirit — a white whiskey — with botanicals, then redistills and blends those for a fuller-bodied, malty version of a gin, like a Dutch genever”

Why hello, my friend Gin.  And hello, my not yet friend but hopefully soon to be friend Breuckelen Distilling Company bkgin.com

I have sent my sister’s boyfriend Caleb (who oh so conveniently resides in Brooklyn)  on a mission: operation buy me (who not conveniently at all lives in Cincinnati) this amazing sounding gin. It can be found at all the locations listed on their ‘where to buy’ page *hint hint*.

And on a nerdy closing note, because the best is always saved for last, during the Middle Ages gin was thought to have been a cure for the Black Death due to the purported medicinal qualities found in the Juniper berry.  Faulty but fun… or at least fun insofar as you can have fun when you’ve got the plague. Yikes. Heres to not living in the Middle Ages. Cheers!

