la tourangelle

    Forgive my sounding like a promotional but I have a new obsession – La Tourangelle oils.  Not only are they beautifully branded (I am a sucker for good branding), they come in so many different flavors and are really nice to cook with.  For once a product whose branding backs up quality!  I bought the La Tourangelle Walnut Oil about a year ago when I made granola that called for a walnut oil, and then I promptly forgot about it.  Actually, that’s not true.   It was definitely on my peripheral vision every time I went to my pantry for flour or sugar, it was a splurge that I knew was there and I was just waiting to figure out how to use it.  I don’t know why I hadn’t ever thought to check out the La Tourangelle website but I didn’t, and when I finally did it kinda blew my mind.

Disclaimer about above picture:  this picture is more than pretty, but until someone steps forward to counter my argument, I say that you cannot use pistachio oil to make pistachio macaron.  Nope, nuh-uh, don’t do it.  I recommend using Pistachio Monin Syrup (which, if you live in Cincinnati, can be bought fairly inexpensively at Jungle Jim’s).  However, there are tons of really worthwhile sounding recipes that you can use flavored oils for, many of which can be found (surprise surprise) on the product website.  The only thing more impressive (and geeky-exciting) then reading the long list of flavored oil is seeing them all lined up in their lovely branded bottles ready to be bought and made into yummy splurge-worthy food:  Walnut, Hazelnut, Almond, Grapeseed, Sesame, Avocado, Canola, Sunflower, Stir Fry, Wok oil, Peanut, Pecan, Pistachio, Infused White Truffle, Infused Black Truffle, Pumpkin Seed, and Coconut.   Mmm.   Needless to say, these make great  bank account friendly gifts, that would seem to give to the giver after the initial giving is done, if they play their cards correctly( hint hint, husband 😉 )

Roasted Walnut Oil Pesto (taken from the La Tourangelle website)

Roasted walnut oil pesto

Makes about 2 cups

  • 3 cups basil leaves
  • 1 clove garlic, roughly chopped
  • 3 Tbs walnuts
  • 3 Tbs grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup walnut oil
  • Salt to taste

Puree the ingredients until smooth in a food processor. Serve immediately or refrigerate covered.

