love, amish style

Neither David nor I are incredibly into Valentine’s Day (or so we say).  Although, we did wish each other Happy Valentine’s Day this morning, and we did get dressed up and go out to a very nice dinner at La Poste Friday night, which David mistakenly thought was Valentines Day as I later found out.  Hmmm.   Either way, last night as I was about to climb into bed to do some reading I thought Id go the extra mile and ask David if he would like Amish Baked Oatmeal for breakfast, to which he replied  “that would be wonderful!”, or something like that.  So, in the end, our first Valentine’s Day together started with something special and sweet.

I got the recipe for Amish Baked Oatmeal from my amazingly crafty  friend Rachel when she  heard about one of my big culinary shortcomings: for the life of me I can’t cook oatmeal correctly.  The dually sad and ironic part about all of this is that oatmeal is one of my favorite foods to eat.  I LOVE oatmeal. So how is it, when I figure out macaron and other culinary puzzles, that I can’t make simple oatmeal?  The jokes on me I guess.  Anyways, the one thing I love about this oatmeal is that you make it the night before and let it rest overnight, before baking it for 45 minutes the next morning.  Its hot and a little crispy, sweet, and covered with hot milk.  Nothing says I love you honey like a hot bowl of oatmeal and milk in the morning with a dark coffee chaser ( I’m so glad that David understands my food-based love language)!

Baked Oatmeal is just a little bit like having dessert for breakfast, but make an egg or two and have some orange juice with it and it’s not too terribly unhealthy of a morning (unless you eat the whole dish of oatmeal by yourself, then its unhealthy).  You could even make an egg with sautéed spinach and have some tea with it and make it a more balanced breakfast.   Or you could cover it in maple syrup or pour hot chai tea over it and just embrace its sweet, lovely nature as is.

Amish Baked Oatmeal

1/3 cup butter

2 large eggs

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup + tbsp milk

3 cups of oatmeal, quick or old-fashioned

  1. Melt butter
  2. Grease 1 1/2 quart baking dish.  Drop in the eggs and beat well.
  3. Add brown sugar, baking powder, vanilla, cinnamon and salt.  Whisk well, until there are no lumps.
  4. Whisk in the butter and milk, then add the oats.
  5. Stir well and refrigerate overnight
  6. Bake the next morning for 45 minutes at 350
  7. Spend too much time enjoying breakfast with hot and sleepy husband, throw work clothes on, makeup, grab keys, run out the door and head downtown. Totally worth it!
